News »

Cathedral High School Graduates the Class of 2023

by Patrick  O'Connor
Thursday May 18, 2023

The Class of 2023 gets together for a final time prior to graduation. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.
The Class of 2023 gets together for a final time prior to graduation. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

The 92nd commencement took place on Saturday afternoon, May 13 at Holy Cross Cathedral. At 2 p.m., the faculty and staff led off the procession from the gymnasium to the Cathedral. The 53 graduates, girls in yellow and boys in green followed along in a single file and took their seats in a reserved front section. Delivering the invocation was Msgr. Kevin O'Leary, rector and school chaplain. Addressing the graduates with words of congratulations was Paul Chisholm, chairman of the board of trustees and school president Dan Carmody. Also addressing their classmates was salutatorian Kaena O'Garro and valedictorian Brittany Ishmael.

The Graduates

Onike Adenjii, Joana K. Agblekpe, Ladybird Aibangbee, Bryant Baez, Avia Barnes, Tayla Barros, Tukhar Barua, Ana M. P. Benavides, Kai Brooks, Elijah A. Byrd, Peterson Charles, Daylan A. Comas, Mark Desobrit, Max Desobrit, Ethan N. Destin, Omar Diaz, Kyree Egerton, Khleon Emptage, Eseosa Eriyo, Maximilian C. Faisal, Adrien J. Feliz Cabreja, Luis Fernandes, Melissa V. Fernandes, Mackenzie Gilchrist, Harrison Grandchamps, Kymani Greaves, Elijha A. Green, Lori Gustama, Aidalitzy Henriquez, MaLena Henry, Brittany Ishmael, Anthony Jackson, Heather A. Latham, Naissa Lee, Michael Lesse, Yedidya Lubunga, Anny J. Lemus, Kaena O'Garro, Rommer E. Pena Jr, Kendra B. Preval, Keian Queen, Regina Saavedra, Ali Saleh, Emanuel Santiago, Capri Smith, Kaleel Subjects, Jomar Supreme, Sincere Tavarez, Kierra S. Thompson, Sara Thompson, Alphonso Ughu, Justin Weeks, Isaiah C. White.

Girls basketball coach Clinton Lassiter and his graduating seniors. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

Boys Basketball stars Peterson Charles and Ali Saleh. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

School president Dan Carmody and valedictorian Brittany Ishmael and sulatatorian Kaena O'Garro. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

The valedictorian Brittany Ishmael addressing her classmates.Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

The class of 2023 arrives for graduation. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

Brittany Ishmael was presented the Vigor In Arduis Award. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

Joana Kekeli Agblekpe was presented the Service Award. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.  

Elijah Bryd was presented the Spirit Award. Photo by Patrick O'Connor.